The problem with celebrating effort.

2 minute read time

On Wednesday, I warned you there was another newsletter coming! Feels weird being here on a Friday, but if you opened this email, you know what we’re about to talk about. So let’s get started.

Remember how I said celebrate not quitting…well, I take it back.

Earlier this week I had a call with a friend where her husband shared good news and ended up crying having a mini-breakdown.

Here I was, celebrating simply ’trying’ to start a business while others are celebrating building client lists and getting VA’s.

While I document my failures in this newsletter, I figured out I was also perpetuating a lie: effort is enough.

And I want to share why with you.

Truth is my biggest fear is waking up a year from now still saying "I'm trying" to start a business. Psychologists call this the sunk cost fallacy — of repeatedly trying the same thing even if it worked a lil because of how much time, money, or EFFORT you already invested.

Just like a gambler convinced they'll win because of time invested, "trying" can become the sunk cost fallacy in business.

Think about it. How many times have you poured effort into a failing project, clinging to the hope that "eventually" things will turn around?

This explains why entrepreneurs with actual businesses stress the importance of prioritizing a cash flowing business or holding onto a day job until your business takes off. You need progress.

If this eerily sounds like you, minus the mini gambling problem, good! It took me over a year to figure this out.

Then I listened to Startup Therapys podcast episode on effort vs progress and everything started to make sense.

It feels like we are conditioned to value effort. Video game achievements for simply logging in to childhood participation trophies. It’s so crazy that Pinterest 2024 Trends includes throwing parties for monthly milestones.

Here’s a sobering truth I was celebrating effort because it stopped me from feeling like a chronic loser while everyone else around me was winning.

The unintended side-effect was losing sight of actual progress. I started seeing progress as the number business attempts, ideas, and days I didn’t cawl in a ball depressed instead of people I spoke to trying to help or those reaching out to me.

At one point, I even made “trying”my whole personality disguised as determination. But let's be honest, "trying" is the bare minimum. The entry fee into the arena called entrepreneurship is clients. Progress looks like people reaching out asking for help or pitching someone and them saying ‘yes’.

I mean, what do you usually see? People celebrating you for trying? Or telling you effort isn’t enough?

… and which one do you need to hear vs what you want to hear?

You know those people in my life winning? It boils down to specific outcomes not working a specific amount of hours or a ‘feeling’ like they were. working hard.

So I full-heartedly agree with Startup Therapy podcast co-hos said, ‘effort only needs to be recognized not celebrated’ I finally got it.

So if you feel like this whole newsletter is a personal attack, hold on. It took me YEARS to reach this point, okay? This podcast was a wake up call and I pray this is yours.

My pride might be bruised, but at least I know I’m still in the pre-game stage and shifting my focus back.

If you ever need help figuring out if you are working hard or underperforming — here is a statement they shared that clearly tells you: Show me your work.

Or maybe just listen to the podcast episode yourself:

P.S. This newsletter looks a lil different than the sneak peek I gave you on Wednesday. That’s because I didn’t want to recycle a medium post and finally had time to think through this a-ha moment.

P.S.S. If you’re still interested in the original newsletter here it is: